Winter “Break” Reading List

Posted on December 22, 2013


I’m not taking any extended leave from work during this holiday season, a few days here and there. It is however a break from school. With a nod to @BareftStratgist here’s my list:

 51xggzwfbjL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_Holy War, Holy Peace: How Religion Can Bring Peace to the Middle East  – Marc Gopin 

I’m reading this in preparation for my upcoming trip to Israel/Palestine. Professor Gopin investigates how religious traditions can become assets in peacebuilding. He proposes incorporating religious values and symbols into official and unofficial diplomacy to undermine the appeal of religious extremists.

 

 

 

 

51mJGs14h9L._SY300_

  The British Confederate: Archibald Campbell, Marquess of Argyll  – Allan I. Macinnes

   This is actually a Christmas gift I am giving my family to pass between my mother,    sister, brother, and on to the older kids (shhh,  don’t  tell). While my surname doesn’t  reveal my Scottish origins on my mother’s side they haven’t yet wrote a similar book  on about  an  ancestor on my father’s Italian side. A Scottish revolutionary and family  leader, Archibald Campbell, Marquess of Argyll should  offer  not only a glimpse at  family history, but creative policy thinking and revolutionary leadership.

 

 

 

 

41Cnu7U84GL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-68,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Start With Why How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action – Simon Sinek

Considering that perhaps the last decade+ of war and the concepts that have come along with it (failed states, building partner capacity, state-building/peacebuilding) I would like to consider why all of these concepts are driving concepts of security. So I need to start somewhere. Sinek claims that “Why” is the purpose, cause or belief that serves as the unifying, driving and inspiring force for any individual or organization. (And it was one on my 2013 reading list)

